Melted wax inchies on canvas

As promised…here is the other artwork I did yesterday. It is melted wax inchies on a black canvas.  Inchies are simply art work cut into 1″x1″ pieces.  The black really sets the colors off nicely. I did 2 coats of black acrylic on the white canvas.  I melt crayons on a warming tray and lay paper on top and peel it off for a monoprint.  I usually use 4×4″ papers, or 3″x5″ or even smaller.  That way I have lots of those nice edge pieces to choose from.  Sometimes I do a batch of like colors and sometimes I just play and use whatever floats my boat.  This is easy enough for kids and a good way to use up old crayons.  The warming trays can be found at thrift stores and were popular in the 70s.

When I was arranging these pieces, I thought they looked like flowers, as did my daughter.   But then when it was all glued (I use Aleene’s tacky glue) together, both my daughter and I saw the “Monkey in the Middle” . Made us chuckle.  I used a Sakura gelly roll pen for the signature and titleclass pics009

Leave a Reply

