Making Faces

It is always fun to add faces and figures to my art and altered books. I have been playing with this idea lately in my altered books and I’d like to share a couple of them here. If I was gifted with a natural drawing ability for people, I might just draw them. But just like many others, I need some tricks to accomplish the task! In these two examples, I first chose a nice magazine photo of a face. Now, as copyright dictates, if I want to publish the photo, I need to get permission. So, by the time I’m done, you don’t recognize the photo at all.

I mod podge the photo onto a book page. With my fingers(I’ve been doing this a lot lately…no brushes to clean)I smear on some white gesso over the whole face. I’m careful with the eyes, nostrils and mouth and make sure, sometimes with extra water, to make this layer of gesso see-through. I apply a good white coat down the middle of the nose. Then again with my fingers start to apply paint, this time turquoise, to the shadows…around the hairline, along the nose, under the chin. I alter the nose line and other places so the new face is my own creation. I did a fingertip of blue on the eyes. Then I used an orange pearl on the rest of the face. I used a little red on the cheeks and forehead and perhaps other places. Keep it loose and fun. The more interesting the colors, the more interesting the outcome.  We aren’t going for reality here.  One painting I used a pen to outline the features and add hair. The other I just used it on the jawline and for the lashes. Sometimes I’ll use my Sakura gelly roll pen for the whites of the eyes, and the highlight marks on eyes, nose and lips.  

I hope this inspires you to play in a new way with your art today. See you again soon. Please let me know if you find this helpful, okay?ImageImage

Leave a Reply

