ATCs, Artist Trading Cards

Have you heard of artist trading cards? They are original works of art, 2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″, to trade with other artists.  They are the same size as poker playing cards, baseball cards or other trading cards. You can use any medium to make art on them as well as a variety of substrates. You can join online or in person groups to trade with artists around the world. I belong to an international online group called atcsforall. I am also lucky enough to have an in person group for art card trades.

Atcs are what led me in new art directions. I had done watercolor and acrylics and sumi e, and the cards encouraged an exploration of mixed media which led to altered books, art journaling and encaustics. 

After a week away, my atcs were my daily art recently. Our in person atc/mixed media group is exploring uses of washi tape and paint chips.  My atcs with washi tape include a variety of Tim Holtz elements plus some others. I used Miracle Tape by Viva Las Vegastamps to make some original washi tape from my gelli plate printed tissue paper.

I plan to make some paint chip atcs similar to some I made years ago. The idea is not original, but I don’t remember the original source. For these I attached the paint chips with eyelets using my Crop-a-dial.  I drew the faces, arms and legs on flesh colored paper, gluing on the heads and arms, but letting the legs dangle from small pieces of trellis yarn.

If you haven’t tried making atcs, it is a quick art form because it is so small. You can use so many of the art materials you have on hand and it is great for using up small pieces. In another post I’ll talk about round robin atcs. Now go play!ImageImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “ATCs, Artist Trading Cards”

  1. Nice ATC designs. Love the art doll subjects. Keep on keeping on. Glad you were able to “get your blog on”…smiling here.

Leave a Reply

